Upgrade via apt issue

Dear all, we just performed our first upgrade via apt on our Ubuntu and now we get Server Error 500 on almost all pages.

I hope we didn’t lose everything.

Here the last part of ralph.log

https://xsnippet.org/363996

I’m not an expert on ralph, just starting to use it myself… looking at your log, it looks like the database migration scripts need to be run since the error talks about a missing column…

django.db.utils.OperationalError: (1054, “Unknown column ‘assets_asset.start_usage’ in ‘field list’”)

Looks like there is a ralph cli command (flush and migrate)

https://ralph-ng.readthedocs.io/en/stable/installation/data_migration/

Hope that helps.

Hi,
Unfortunately this is not the case.

The original installation was already with Ralph 3. So there is no migration from Ralph 2 to Ralph 3.

I made an initial installation manually (no repo) then a subsequent upgrade via apt upgrade (after configuring the repo).

After this upgrade I got the above error.

This is worrisome as it seems like the consistency check on the installation scripts are not working properly.

Right now I just need to put back at work Ralph, then I can help in troubleshooting the upgrade process.

If it can be of further help:

root@ralphng : ~ # /opt/ralph/ralph-core/bin/ralph check
System check identified no issues (0 silenced).

Think for a moment.

You upgraded to a new version of ralph 3.
The error is that there is a column missing in the database.
So, that means that the new version of ralph 3 added a column.
Therefore, you need to migrate the database to add the new column.

I put ‘start_usage’ into the github search and found the file where it was added on Feb 7th.

Here is the migration:

Hi Jon, that’s super cool. Thank you.

Now, last mile:

a. shall I put your code in a migration.py file,
b. copy this file into /opt/ralph/ralph-core/bin/python then
c. run /opt/ralph/ralph-core/bin/python/ralph migration.py

or